Is asexual an okay thing for Christians to be?

As a Christian raised in a conservative environment, all the talk I heard about the LGBT community was negative, but I never heard anything about asexuality. I wasn’t even aware of asexuality until a few years ago. Asexuality is a part of the LGBT community, and it’s interesting to see the difference in perception, or even lack of acknowledgment, on the side of Christians.

The argument

The base Christian argument against non-heterosexuality stems from Genesis 2:20-24(NIV): “But for Adam no suitable helper was found. 21 So the Lord God caused the man to fall into a deep sleep; and while he was sleeping, he took one of the man’s ribs and then closed up the place with flesh. 22 Then the Lord God made a woman from the rib he had taken out of the man, and he brought her to the man. 23 The man said, “This is now bone of my bones and flesh of my flesh; she shall be called ‘woman,’ for she was taken out of man.” 24 That is why a man leaves his father and mother and is united to his wife, and they become one flesh.”

Christians take the creation of Adam and Eve (she is named in Genesis 3:20) and their relationship as the standard of how humans should behave sexually (cue the angry “Adam and Eve, not Adam and Steve” response to any sexuality conversation). There are also verses later on in the Bible that condone homosexuality specifically (Romans 1:26-28 for example). But what does that mean for a lack of sexuality? Is that also consider a sin? Is asexuality even supposed to exist as part of God’s plan for humanity?

Is it okay?

I’d like to think that my God is present and active in the lives of people today. I also think God creates every individual uniquely and with a specific purpose. In the Bible, various sexual acts in various contexts are labeled as sinful. So, if a person lacks sexual desires and drives, I believe that such a person is simply less likely to sin or be tempted in that regard. I see nothing wrong with asexuality, and I don’t see how anyone could spin Scripture to proclaim that it is wrong.

When you come across a person who’s different than you, try your best to respect them and their decisions.

What are your thoughts on the matter?

2 thoughts on “Is asexual an okay thing for Christians to be?

  1. It sure makes the single life easier! However, in a marriage it can cause major problems. And you are right, we are all individuals.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve wondered the same thing as a Christian who identifies as asexual. I don’t think lack of sexual attraction would be a sin. However, many Christians place such an extreme importance on marriage that in their minds it may as well be. Scripture that comes to mind when I ask myself about Christianity and asexuality is what Paul says in 1 Corinthians 7: 8-9, ” 8 Now to the unmarried and the widows I say: It is good for them to stay unmarried, as I do. 9 But if they cannot control themselves, they should marry, for it is better to marry than to burn with passion.” And I agree with you, respect other’s differences and decisions. You don’t have to agree with someone to show some respect.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment